Fire Insurance marks

AUCTION DATES

Golding Young, Grantham
Collective Sale, Wednesday 17th January and Thursday 18th January, 9am

Golding Young, Lincoln
Collective Sale, Wednesday 10th January and Thursday 11th January, 9am
Collective Sale, Wednesday 31st January and Thursday 1st February, 9am

Golding Young, Bourne
Toy, Transport & Automobilia Sale, Wednesday 3rd
January, 9am
Collective Sale, Wednesday 24th January and Thursday 25th January, 9am

Stamford Auction Rooms, Stamford
Toys, Ceramics, Glass, Books, Antiques & Collectables,
Saturday 27th January, 10am

Unique Auctions, Lincoln
New Year’s Auctions, Monday 1st January and Tuesday 2nd January, 9am

Please refer to the websites of each company to see the most recent updates on auction details.


Words by:
William Gregory MRICS
Featured in:
January 2024

By William Gregory MRICS, Golding Young and Mawer.

Insurance valuations are an interesting part of the professional service department’s function. Clients are reminded of the importance of up-to-date valuations and also to read the small print in the documents.

Back in the 18th century, insurance companies not only provided the cover and paperwork but also a decorative plaque to be mounted on the insured property.

It had been thought that these plaques served as a confirmation to the fire brigade that the property was insured and that in the event of a fire it should be extinguished at the expense of the said insurance company. This theory has been disputed, and that the plaques served as an advertisement for the company and a confirmation of the status of the resident.

Today, the plaques have become much sought after collectors’ items and over 160 examples were offered recently at the Grantham Auction Rooms, making a total of over £9,000 which should assist at the next renewal date.

Examples are illustrated. Full details of the auction are available at www.goldingyoung.com



Never miss a copy!

Big savings when you take out a subscription.

SEE YOU AT THE SHOW!Join Lincolnshire Life in our marquee for all the fun of the Lincolnshire Show.We have a host of fantastic competitions for you to enter.Find us at Avenue 10, Row 46. ... See MoreSee Less